Because of funding announced by Gov. Mark Dayton, more than 3,300 4-year-olds will get to go to preschool this fall for free. Seventy-four school districts and charter schools were given the money. Burnsville, Faribault, Mankato, Rosemount, Apple Valley, Eagan and United South Central were some of the area school districts that were given money for the program.

According to the governor's press release, these programs will save families thousands of dollars while preparing Minnesota’s youngest learners for success in school and life. With this pre-kindergarten investment, just over one-fifth of all Minnesota school districts will provide free, voluntary pre-kindergarten for 4-year-olds in their communities.

The Legislature had provided $25 million for the program. Sixty percent of the school districts that applied were rejected after the money was allocated. Dayton said that shows that there is a need to expand and provide more money for the program.

Area school districts that applied for money but were rejected were Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton, Kenyon-Wanamingo, Medford, N.R.H.E.G., Owatonna, Triton and Waseca.

The complete report can be found on the Governor's Newsroom Page.

Nicole S. Young, 2007 / ThinkStock