Changes to Minnesota Law in 2016
A number of new laws and changes will take effect on January 1, 2016.
The one law change that will perhaps affect the most is the fact that every owner applying for a motor vehicle or motorcycle registration or transfer of ownership, must provide proof that the vehicle is covered by an insurance policy. Previously just saying that you had coverage was sufficient. Starting on January 1, 2016, you will need to provide the name of your insurance company along with policy number and expiration date. About 10.8 percent of Minnesotans don't have vehicle insurance.
Smokers will be paying more. The tax of $3.54 increases by 12 cents the first of the year. In the Twin Cities there will be additional changes in regards to tobacco. Most retail stores will be prohibited from selling flavored tobacco products. Currently the price for three small cigars is around a dollar. New price hikes will mean the minimum price for a pack of four small cigars will be $10.40.
Recycling changes in the Twin Cities will change in 2016 as well. Building owners that contract for four cubic yards or more of trash per week must be recycling at least three materials by January 1, 2016. This affects the seven-county metro area. For example if you own an apartment building you must have labeled containers for the recycling of at least three recyclable items such as aluminum, plastic or glass.
Later in 2016, a number of Minnesotans will be getting raises as the minimum wage increases once again. August 1, 2016, large employers must offer a minimum wage of $9.50 per hour and small employers $7.75 per hour. The definition of a large employer changes as well. A large employer is now defined as one with more than $625,000 in gross sales versus the current definition of gross sales over $500,000.