Five new members are joining the OHS Athletic Hall of Fame: Sandy Boss, Kam Hyland, Ron Jacobsen, Jill Meilahn & Gary Ridge. Induction is Friday September 12.

The 2014 induction class into the Owatonna High School Athletic Hall of Fame will bring the total membership to 100 individuals!

The 2014 Class:

Sandy Boss - Coach - 1969-2008

  • Pioneer of women's athletics at OHS
  • Coached Gymnastics, Swimming & Track
  • Member of State Gymnastics & State High School Coaches Hall of Fame
  • Graduate of University of Minnesota

Kam Hyland - Class of 1996

  • Eleven letters in Cross Country, Hockey & Track
  • Captain in all three sports, 1995-96
  • Big Nine Cross Country Champion - 1995
  • Big Nine 1600 Meter Champion - 1996
  • Father Cody & Ken Austin Award winner (hockey)
  • Attended University of MN and University of North Dakota

Ron Jacobsen - Class of 1957

  • Seven letters in two sports - football and wrestling
  • Four consecutive state wrestling tournament appearances (1954 - 1957)
  • US Marine - All Marine Corps Champion - 1959, 1960
  • Alternate for US Olympic Team - 1960
  • University of New Mexico, WAC Champion - 1963
  • Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame

Jill Meilahn - Class of 1973

  • Seven letters in four sports - tennis, volleyball, basketball, track
  • Joins her sister, Joni Meilahn - Class of 1976 - Hall of Fame
  • University of Minnesota - Five letters in two sports (volleyball, track)
  • On medical staff for International Paralympic Nordic Skiing World Championships

Gary Ridge - Coach 1970-1991, Activities Director 1991-2001

  • Head coach Girls Track, 1978-1991
  • Assistant Football Coach, 1986-1990
  • Added sports of girls hockey, boys & girls soccer, adaptive floor hockey
  • OHS teams won 37 Big Nine titles in eleven different sports
  • OHS teams were Big Nine All-Sports Champion three times & three runners-up
  • OHS teams went to state 31 times
  • Worthington High School Athletic Hall of Fame, 1989
  • Region 1AA Athletic Director of the Year, 2001

These individuals will be recognized on Friday September 12 at Owatonna High School during a reception in the Commons at 3:00. The public is invited. The formal induction ceremony will occur during halftime of the Owatonna vs Faribault football game that evening.

The OHS Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1995. Its purpose is to give recognition to outstanding athletes, coaches and community members who made significant contributions to the athletic program at OHS. The first class consisted of ten members. Each year since five new individuals have been added. With the induction of the 2014 Hall of Fame class there will be 100 members in the Hall.