Katie Belina and Ethan DeKam will rule over the student body at Owatonna High School this week after being named homecoming king and queen Monday night.

Coronation at the OHS auditorium included the introduction of all the homecoming candidates, a fall sports update and a speech from football coach Jeff Williams. He spoke of his enjoyment of homecoming week and how the candidates were chosen by their fellow students because of their kindness. Williams shared some impressive statistics of Owatonna's extracurricular participation. He said 82 percent of the students are involved in some activity at the school, either sports, fine arts or other clubs or organizations.

Owatonna has a tradition of bringing back the king and queen from two years before to share their current situation. Dexter Leer talked of his transition to life as a Gustie at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter but that he will also consider Owatonna home. Abby Bendorf attends Wisconsin-Platteville and shared a story of being a camp counselor last summer in Colorado and how it his affected her. She also joked that while the 2014 homecoming coronation was held in the gym due to a fire in the auditorium, this year it is in the auditorium because of water damage to the gym floor.

Homecoming activities this week include powder puff football at 8PM Wednesday at the high school football field. The parade is Friday at 1:30PM through downtown Owatonna. The Huskies host Austin at 7PM Friday night in the football game. Fareway Foods is hosting a pregame picnic from 3-6PM at their location that afternoon.

KRFO AM 1390 will air the coronation Friday before the football beginning about 5:45PM.

The other finalists for homecoming king were Jay Sullivan, Jacob Gauthier, Windham Anez and Cade Brede. The queen finalists included Louisa Deetz, Jenna McMains, Grace Valen and Anna Weisenburger.

The semifinalists for queen were Sydney Bartz, Braxton Blood, Toria Koch, Danika Brown, Page Cocciarella, Riley Birk and Tori Urch. The king semifinals included Mitchell Mayer, Aidan Buryska, Jaden Dowhaniuk, Josh Burns, Khor Wal, Logan Ringhofer and Darik Elsted. Urch and Ringhofer were the emcees for the program.