On Tuesday, June 2, there were 642 members and guests in attendance at the 79th annual Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric board meeting.

Two new directors were elected to three-year terms. In District 1, P.J. Duchene of Faribault. In District 5, Rodney D. Krell of Blooming Prairie. In District 3, incumbent Duane R. Edwardson of Ellendale, was re-elected, according to Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric.

A slideshow presentation was shared by Nina Lessman of Fairbault -- last year's Steele-Waseca Youth Tour Delegate -- about her trip to Washington, D.C. Lessman introduced Lucas Arndt of Owatonna, the co-op's 2015 delegate.

An update was given on Southern Minnesota Energy Cooperative and the purchase of Alliant Energy Service territory in Minnesota by Syd Briggs, Steele-Waseca general manager.

The Board of Directors of Steele-Waseca met at the conclusion of the meeting for their reorganizational meeting. Elected were: President Gary Wilson of Owatonna, Vice President John Beal of Owatonna, Secretary/Treasurer Gerri Lienke of Janesville, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Renee Malecha of Dundas, and Chaplin Duane Edwardson.

Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric covers nine counties, serving more than 9,600 customers. The counties include Steele, Waseca, Rice, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Blue Earth, LeSueur and Goodhue.

Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric board of directors elected to three-year terms. P.J. Duchene of Faribault in District 1, incumbent Duane Edwardson of Ellendale in District 3 and Rodney Krell of Blooming Prairie in District 5. Submitted