After releasing a handful of new tracks and teasing that a full-length project might be in the works for 2018, Dan + Shay officially announced on May 18 that they have plans to release their third studio album. The project will be self-titled and, according to a press release, will be all about the duo's fans and the music they want to hear.

"Our first two albums helped us build an incredible, and super-loyal, fan base, so we knew it was our responsibility to them to put out the best music we could on this record," Dan + Shay explain. "Most importantly, we wanted to deliver a project that would satisfy the people who got us where we are in the first place."

Fans have likely already heard at least a taste of Dan + Shay: The album's lead-off single, "Tequila," has been steadily climbing the charts since it was released to country radio in January. Read on to learn everything you need to know about the duo's upcoming album, as well as to hear more about why, even though they're still the hitmakers fans know and love, Dan + Shay approached the process of making a record with a more mature perspective this time around.

The Title

Dan Smyers and Shay Mooney are keeping the title of their new album simple: Dan + Shay. The duo announced their self-titled third studio album via Instagram, alongside the record's track list and a brand-new video for their song, "Speechless," which will be included on the project.

The Release Date

Dan + Shay will be released on June 22, but fans can pre-order it now. Album pre-orders include instant downloads of the previously released tracks "All to Myself," "Speechless" and "Tequila."

The Album Cover

Warner Bros. / Warner Music Nashville
Warner Bros. / Warner Music Nashville

The minimalist cover art for Dan + Shay features a simple depiction of the group's name written in bold, black letters over a gray background.

The Record Label

As with the group's previous two albums, Dan + Shay will be released on Warner Bros. / Warner Music Nashville.

The Producers

Smyers, one half of Dan + Shay, co-produced the album along with Warner Music Nashville executive and long-time collaborator Scott Hendricks.

The Single

In January, Dan + Shay released the first taste of their new project with "Tequila," a heartbreak ballad that belies the song title's connotation of partying and a raucous good time.

"In typical Nashville songwriter fashion, we made it as confusing as possible for the listener ..." the duo joked about the song during a press conference. "We used the idea of tequila as a trigger to go back to a relationship and get really specific with the details, really tell a story."

The Songs

In the songs on their upcoming album, Dan + Shay focused on building upon the foundation they created in their first two projects. Fans who know and love the duo for their expressive harmonies and evocative lyrics can expect the new release to continue in that direction; however, songs such as "Speechless" -- inspired by Smyers and Mooney's own wedding days -- are a testament to the ways in which both members of the duo have matured since their first record, both as performers and as people.

"Where we are musically and in our personal lives is different than where we were when this all started," Smyers and Mooney say, "which makes this album unique while still being true to who we are."

In addition to speechless, the duo has also released another love song off of the new album: "All to Myself" explores the sexier, more possessive side of love, set to an island-inspired beat. The album will also feature a collaboration with Kelly Clarkson on "Keeping Score," as well as "No Such Thing," a song co-written with David Lee Murphy.

Dan + Shay, Dan + Shay Track Listing:

1. "Alone Together" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Jesse Frasure, Hillary Lindsey)
2. "Tequila" (Dan Smyers, Jordan Reynolds, Nicolle Galyon)
3. "What Keeps You Up at Night" (Jordan Reynolds, Jordan Minton, Chase Foster)
4. "All to Myself" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Jordan Reynolds, Nicolle Galyon)
5. "Keeping Score" (feat. Kelly Clarkson) (Dan Smeyers, Jordan Reynolds, Laura Veltz)
6. "Make or Break" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Emily Weisband, Jordan Reynolds)
7. "Speechless" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Jordan Reynolds, Laura Veltz)
8. "Stupid Love" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Jon Nite, David Hodges)
9. "No Such Thing" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Matt Dragstrem, David Lee Murphy)
10. "My Side of the Fence" (Shay Mooney, Benjy Davis)
11. "Island Time" (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert, Jimmy Robbins)

The Tour

In January of 2018, the duo revealed that they will be joining Rascal Flatts on their 2018 Back to Us Tour this summer. The duo told The Boot and other media outlets during a recent press event that they're excited to join the Flatts on the road not only as fellow artists, but as fans, too.

"Obviously, anyone who's listened to our music can tell you that they're a huge influence on us," Smyers says. "I remember growing up in Pittsburgh, saving up money and going to see those guys play every summer. We're both such fans. We know every single word to every one of their songs."

Additionally, Dan + Shay will kick off their summer with a performance during the 2018 CMA Fest at Nashville's Nissan Stadium, and will make several festival appearances as well as give a couple of select showcase performances. Click here to purchase tickets.

More New Country and Americana Albums Coming in 2018

More From KRFO-FM