After an unbeaten Big Nine Conference season and convincing victories over all the Section 1AAA teams they faced, Owatonna has the top seed for the tournament.

The Huskies will open at home Thursday about 6:30PM against the winner of Rochester John Marshall and Century, who will square off at 5PM that night at OHS. Radio coverage will be heard on KRFO AM 1390 and the RadioPup app. The winner advances to the semifinals at 3PM Saturday, February 18, at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester to face the winner of the Northfield at Farmington match.

The finals will follow at 5PM Saturday. Owatonna got upset by Faribault in last year's section semifinals. Farmington beat Faribault for the title in 2016. The Huskies' last state appearance as a team was in 2013.

Westfield earned a home match in the Section 2A quarterfinal round Thursday, February 16. The No. 4 seed Razorbacks will host No. 5 Le Sueur-Henderson at 7PM at Blooming Prairie High School. On the same night, No. 8 NRHEG will battle No. 9 Medford at 6PM at Kenyon-Wanamingo. The winner will challenge the top-seed Knights at about 7PM in the quarterfinals. The semifinals are at 2PM Saturday at United South Central High School in Wells with the finals to follow at 4PM.

In Section 1A, Zumbrota-Mazeppa is the top seed. Goodhue in No. 2. Triton, the 11th seed, will wrestle No. 6 Caledonia at 6PM in Wabasha. The winner will face No. 3 Wabasha-Kellogg right afterward.

Kasson-Mantorville and Albert Lea are the top seeds in Section 1AA. Semifinals and finals are Saturday at Mayo Civic Center for 1A and 1AA.

Individual wrestling tournaments are February 24-25. The state wrestling tournament is March 2-4 at Exel Energy Center in St. Paul.

More From KRFO-FM